countdown to spring and some Instagram pics…

How has your winter been?  I first started my first week’s homework for this semester on January 7th.  I had four classes for five weeks (rather than the usual 3 on top of working full time), as well as a a bunch of other stressful things.  Today marks the first day that things slow down to what I consider to be a reasonable “busy” pace versus an unsustainably exhausting one. January 9th I went into all this knowing I had 43 days until things would be manageable.  Thank goodness it’s here!  It’s also only 4 weeks and some change until spring.  We haven’t had much of a winter, and since I am not getting some much loved snow around here, I’m anxious to get on with spring.

The new apartment is slowly coming together.  We love it.  We’ve gotten a lot of new things for it, but we still have a lot to do.

I headed to the J. Crew factory store a few weeks ago and got a pretty cable knit sweater and this necklace, as well as a couple bracelets.  Years ago I thought J. Crew was a little on the preppy and BORING side, but the last couple of years, it’s one of my favorites.   They have so many clothes and jewelry pieces that are stylish enough to wear out on a Saturday night, but are also conservative enough, depending on how they’re styled, to look appropriate for work.

The bf and I celebrated Valentine’s day a couple times – the Sunday evening before we went to the restaurant that’s in our building.  This place is delicious and we’re slowly working our way through everything on the menu!  I was sick on Tuesday, but after a visit to the pharmacy, I squeezed in a stop to the Fresh Market for some steak, shrimp, potatoes, asparagus, olive oil, balsamic, asiago bread, wine, and some delicious fudge-filled chocolate cupcakes.  The bf made a delicious dinner.  That place is BY FAR my favorite grocery store.

I’ve had this Pretty Nylon mini cosmetic case for awhile. I originally got it for makeup, but the dimensions are HORRIBLE for makeup! even smaller eyeshadow palettes and eyeliner pencils are too wide to fit in it.  I discovered it was the perfect size to keep all my Apple accessories – ipod, USB chargers, nike+ ipod receiver, and headphones. The bag in which I carried my laptop every day was falling apart at the seams, so I got this Pretty Nylon computer case for it to match the smaller case.  I love it! It’s meant for a 15″ laptop but I have a 13″ laptop, so the laptop, the cord, and this smaller case all fit in the bag just fine.

Speaking of items I love, I also got the new Urban Decay Naked2 eyeshadow palette.  I’ve been wanting the Naked palette since it came out, but I’ve had so many eyeshadows, I couldn’t bring myself to spend $50 on it.  I was finally at the point where I didn’t have any good eyeshadows left that I liked, and I love the cooler tones of this second palette, so I got it, as well as a few more updates to my makeup from MAC.  I also discovered that I can watch youtube videos on our flat screen through my boyfriend’s Xbox live account.  This lead me to discover Marlena at Makeup Geek and all her wonderful videos you can find on You Tube on MakeupGeekTV.  If you feel like you need an update to your makeup routine, I highly recommend these videos! There are a lot of basic and advanced techniques.

 

2 thoughts on “countdown to spring and some Instagram pics…

  1. I feel the same way about J Crew..have you seen Lands End Canvas? It’s like a good mix of J Crew and Fossil. I just bought some skirts and scarves on sale. I don’t ever buy Lands End but Canvas is more of a cooler, boho style. Also, love the pics!

Leave a Reply

