goodbye, summer…


As summer nears to a close, it’s hard for me to believe it’s over already.  I really enjoy the changes in weather every season, but this summer just went by too quickly.  I took the summer off of school and enjoyed a lot of outside time at the park by my house.  Nothing makes me happier than winding down after work with a long run on a hot, humid, sunny day.  For me, the hotter it is out, the better.  I was lucky to have a lot of those days available to me the past four months!

When fall begins, I instantly get the urge to layer on more clothes, take longer naps, and eat.  It wasn’t too long after the first cool day a couple weeks ago when I started to think about the upcoming holidays and all the recipes I want to make. I am not much of a cook, but I am always willing to try to make things, and whenever I have a crisis, the boyfriend is always very willing to lend me a helping hand.  He is a little more comfortable in the kitchen than I am.

The popularity of blogs in recent years has changed the way I look at and learn about a lot of things, and cooking is no exception.  There are so many good cooking/baking blogs out there.  They have great recipes, made even better by the fact that they capture their works with beautiful photographs.   They usually come with extensive instructions, and better yet, if you have any questions, you can leave a comment or email a question, and the cook him/herself is usually more than happy to answer it directly. Others will leave comments as well, offering suggestions or alternatives on their own attempts at a recipe. I still enjoy a good cookbook, but you just cannot get that sort of interactivity out of a cookbook.

Here are a few of my favorite cooking, baking, and drink-related blogs:

Smitten Kitchen

The author of this blog, Deb, makes and photographs all the delicious recipes from her 42 square-foot NYC kitchen.  She has a variety of baked goods and other recipes that are all made from scratch, but still easy enough, with her instruction, to try at home.

A Cozy Kitchen

This blogger/chef really likes breakfast food, a personal favorite of mine.  She also offers a variety of different types of recipes, including desserts, meals, and other goodies that to me fall within the “comfort food” category.

Spoon Fork Bacon

If you like bacon, this is the blog for you.  Not all the recipes include bacon, but there are many that do, often in interesting ways, such as these Bacon Gruyere and Green Onion Scones, or even more unique, Salted Caramel and Candied Bacon Ice Cream.  I love the salty/sweet combination so I have a feeling I would enjoy that!

Tokyo Terrace

This blogger, Rachael, is an American living in Tokyo.  She offers a variety of recipes, including some Japanese-influenced dishes.

Joy the Baker

She offers a variety of great baking recipes, including some unique ones like these Lemon Meringue Pie Milkshakes.

Bakerella

Tackling the decorations on some of the baked goods on this site are not for the faint of heart.  Though the skills of this blogger can be very intimidating, such as her Garfield Cake Pops seen above, she offers a lot of step by step directions for recipes that are fitting even for a beginner like myself.

Chocolate Covered Katie

via chocolatecoveredkatie.com

This blog includes SO many low fat, low calorie dessert recipes, such as this Raw Chocolate Fudge Cake, above.

Alcademics

And finally, if you’re bored of the same old beer or vodka soda and are feeling a little ambitious, try out one of the beverages on this site.  This blog has so many recipes for mixed cocktails, including some with some very unique ingredients or combinations.  All the drinks look like a work of art.

Are there any food or drink websites that you enjoy??

2 thoughts on “goodbye, summer…

  1. omg……i’m drooling like a mad dog!! hahahaha….the pancake and toast looks to die for!! and love the cocktail – sooo colorful and summery!!!

    There’s 3 food blogs that i quite enjoy looking at and hope you do too=)

    http://17andbaking.com/ – she is so young yet sooo talented!!!
    http://www.tarteletteblog.com/ – she got lovely food pics!!!
    http://www.blithelyunaware.com/ – i love how she and her bf blends in fashion, life style, and food!!!

    Cinz
    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

