Summer Staples

Maybe I am a creature of habit, but when I find things that work, I tend to stick to them. My wardrobe is no exception. I did some pre-planning regarding what items to get to complete my warm-weather wardrobe for the summer.  Some things are new this season, while others are part of a formula to which I have adhered for a number of years.  In addition to the shorts and belts from my previous post, here are a few other items I have stocked up on for the summer:

~ Tank Tops ~

These are a recurring theme in my wardrobe.  Every year I stock up on Old navy ribbed tank tops Express camisoles in every color. When it comes to the Old Navy tank tops, I usually order “tall” sizes online (because in my opinion, the longer the better), and I wait until I get a coupon in the mail and also order on a day where there is an online code.  Thanks to those discounts, I got these tank tops online for $6 each. Tank tops and camisoles are a great purchase. They’re flexible for the summer months, can be worn as an underneath layer in the cooler months, and for me, when they get a little too shrunken or worn for every day wear, they’re relegated to my work out wear or pajama pile. Wash and line dry, each below-$10 tank top or $15 camisole usually lasts me at least 3 years in one role or another. 

~ Lightweight Cover-Ups ~

Even though summer is hot and sticky here in Ohio, air conditioned offices and grocery stores mean that I still need a long- or three-quarter-length sleeved cardigan or pullover quite frequently. I couldn’t get by without layers.  There are a lot of gauze-y, lightweight tops out there right now. Pictured above: Old Navy Gauze Mexicali Top, Rubbish Brand pullover from Nordstrom Juniors‘, and Old Navy Open-Front Jersey Cardigan.

~ Ikat Prints ~

Ikat print is very popular right now, both in interiors and in clothing. I always have trouble with prints. When it comes to florals, I tend to shy away from most of them and prefer the larger-scale, simpler prints. Right now there are a lot of smaller floral prints on flow-y shirts and dresses – maybe they will grow on me, but right now they remind me a little too much of the late 80s, early 90s Laura Ashley fad, and I am not a fan. I like animal print but I also don’t see a lot of clothing I like in those prints – usually just accessories, if anything. I do love stripes, and have plenty of stripes already in my wardrobe. Pictured above: Old Navy Tie-Shoulder Tiered Sundress and Soprano Tank Top from Nordstrom Juniors’.

~ Accessories ~

I have been gravitating a lot to camel- and white accessories this summer. This Aldo Kowis Clutch kind of reminds me of my Rebecca Minkoff Bombe M.A.C. mentioned here – cream leather with a contrasting detail. The sandals are Dorosh and Rothrock, from Aldo as well.

One thought on “Summer Staples

  1. Hello,

    I am looking in the outlooks magazine at summer staples and love the white organic cotton blend jacket, do you have a place in calgary where I could purchase this?

Leave a Reply

