Sunday laundry.

Greetings, from the neighborhood laundromat!  I could really use a washer and dryer but I really do not want to spend any more time in my damp, musty, dungeon of a basement than I have to.  Do you have as many laundry “categories” as I do?  Wash/dry, wash/hang dry, dry clean, hand wash. I hang dry most of my clothes, and it is a pain but I suppose it’s better for the environment and nothing shrinks on me. I can have a shirt that fits perfectly for years, and one accidental trip to the dryer and it’s just not the same ever again.  I know clotheslines are unsightly but it would probably be better for everyone if we brought them back – I remember when I was little and my mom would line-dry our bedding and towels outside. They really did smell so much better than any detergent or fabric softener!

The reason I am hanging out here is because my silk comforter takes awhile to dry and I have to take it out and rearrange it in the dryer every few minutes so every part of it gets dry. Have you ever had a silk comforter or quilt?  They’re soooo comfortable and nice, but very hot! It is getting too warm for it now so it’s time to store it until next winter.  I came upon mine accidentally.  The now-defunct store Hold Everything (which was owned by the same company as Pottery Barn and West Elm) was going out of business, and I saw this comforter in taupe and silver.  I got the taupe one.  I just liked the way it looked, but I didn’t realize how much I’d love the feel of it as well. It was $160 marked down to $40, and looking back I wish I had bought both remaining colors. I have seen almost the exact same thing sold at West Elm and Pottery barn since, but it’s been full price which is a lot too much considering I already have one!

Back to laundry then homework. Have a good day!

2 thoughts on “Sunday laundry.

Leave a Reply

